What is an Tennessee Lost Title Bond?
Tennessee Lost Title Bonds are required by the state of Tennessee's DMV to obtain your title and register your vehicle, boat, RV, mobile home or trailer. The bond ensures that you are the rightful owner of the vehicle, Mobile home, trailer etc. The Tennessee Lost Title Bond guarantees damages up to the bond limit for a legitimate title holder that may surface in the future with a valid claim to the vehicle, Mobile home, boat or trailer.
Different parts of a bond:
The bond is required when The Obligee (obligator) is the entity requiring you to get the bond. There are 3 parts to a surety bond. The Principal, The Surety Company, and the Obligee. The Principal is the business or individual applying for the Surety Bond. The Obligee is the individual or entity requiring the Surety Bond and the Surety Company is the company who provides the Surety Bond coverage.
Try our 100% Secure Lost Title Bond Online Application to get the Lowest Lost title bond rates in all 50 States.
You can buy your Tennessee Lost Title Bonds (Apply) online immediately, with no credit check for most Lost Title Bonds.
How much does a Tennessee Lost Title Bond cost?
For Tennessee Lost Title Bonds under $5,000 the cost of the bond is $100. For bonds over $5,000 the rate is 1.5%
Tennessee Lost Title Bond Information and Requirements:
The Surety Bond Application must be completed and supported by the following:
1. A bill of sale* from the last registered owner stating why the vehicle was not titled or registered in the seller's name.
*In the absence of a bill of sale please provide:
For Manufactured/Mobile Homes: a written estimate of the current value of the mobile home only (that does not include
any land value) or a recent property tax bill of the mobile home property showing separate “land” and “improvement”
values (if applicable).
For Vehicles (car, truck, golf cart, motorcycle, camper, trailer, etc.): a written appraisal of the vehicle (showing its current
value) from a local licensed dealer or website such as www.kbb.com or www.nadaguides.com.
The issued bond is maintained in a file for a period of three years. The bond may be returned at the end of the three
years or prior to the three years if the vehicle is no longer registered in this state, and the certificate of title has been
surrendered to the department.
• Surety bonds cannot be written for any legally affixed mobile home. A legally affixed mobile home has an Affidavit of
Affixation on file in the county register of deeds’ office. A check for a recorded Affidavit of Affixation with the county
register of deed’s office will be done for all mobile homes needing a surety bond.
• A physical address of where the manufactured/mobile home is located must be provided on all surety bond
applications for mobile homes.
• The value of the surety bond is calculated at one and one-half times the fair market value of the vehicle.
• The state of Tennessee will only write a surety bond for any person or company that is a resident of or have a residence
or office address in Tennessee.
A duplicate title can be obtained in person or by mail through your local county clerk’s office. Lienholders and out-of-state applicants should apply through the office of the county clerk of the owner’s last Tennessee residence.
*If any liens remain, a duplicate title request must originate from the lienholder. The duplicate title will then be sent to first lienholder on record.