What is an North Carolina Lost Title Bond?
North Carolina Lost Title Bonds are required by the state of North Carolina's DMV to obtain your title and register your vehicle, boat, RV, mobile home or trailer. The bond ensures that you are the rightful owner of the vehicle, Mobile home, trailer etc. The North Carolina Lost Title Bond guarantees damages up to the bond limit for a legitimate title holder that may surface in the future with a valid claim to the vehicle, Mobile home, boat or trailer.
Different parts of a bond:
The bond is required when The Obligee (obligator) is the entity requiring you to get the bond. There are 3 parts to a surety bond. The Principal, The Surety Company, and the Obligee. The Principal is the business or individual applying for the Surety Bond. The Obligee is the individual or entity requiring the Surety Bond and the Surety Company is the company who provides the Surety Bond coverage.
Try our 100% Secure Lost Title Bond Online Application to get the Lowest Lost title bond rates in all 50 States.
You can buy your North Carolina Lost Title Bonds (Apply) online immediately, with no credit check for most Lost Title Bonds.
How much does a North Carolina Lost Title Bond cost?
For North Carolina Lost Title Bonds under $5,000 the cost of the bond is $100. For bonds over $5,000 the rate is 1.5%
North Carolina Lost Title Bond Information and Requirements:
An individual who does not have proof that they own their vehicle can title their vehicle using an indemnity bond – a security bond written by an insurance company – or a cash bond.
To obtain a vehicle title using a bond, the title applicant must:
To obtain a vehicle title using a bond, the following documents listed in the table below must be submitted and requirements met. Identification is required for all services processed in person.
To apply for a vehicle title using a bond, an inspector with the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicle's License & Theft Bureau must inspect the vehicle being titled.
A and are required at the time of inspection.
NCDMV will not issue a registration until the vehicle has been deemed operable and an operable title application has been submitted. If the vehicle is not in operable condition at the time of the inspection, then an Inoperable Title will be issued.
A vehicle appraisal is necessary to obtain a vehicle title using a bond.
The vehicle's value is determined from the current Value Schedule and can be obtained by visiting or by calling the NCDMV Customer Contact Center at (919) 715-7000.
For mobile homes and vehicles not listed in the Value Schedule, two appraisals from different North Carolina dealers are required. The appraisals must be on the dealers' letterhead.
An indemnity bond can only be written by an insurance company licensed to write Surety Bonds in North Carolina. The bond must be for one and one-half times the value of the vehicle (with a minimum of $100).
The bond will remain on file with NCDMV for three years.
Bonds are not acceptable:
The vehicle must pass by an before a license plate is issued.
A Certificate of Title fee and taxes must be paid on the vehicle