What is an New Hampshire Car Dealer Bond?
New Hampshire Car Dealer Bonds are required by the Director of the DMV to obtain your Dealer license. The MVD Bond amount for the sale of New and used vehicles is set at $25,000. The Auto Dealer bond ensures that the principal shall comply with the conditions of any contract made by such licensee in connection with the sale or exchange of any motor vehicle and shall not violate any of the provisions of law relating to the conduct of the business for which it is licensed.
The State requires a Car Dealer bond for each license you hold:
$25,000 surety bond for New and Used Motor Vehicle Dealers, Public Consignment Auction Dealers
Different parts of a bond:
There are 3 parts to a MVD surety bond. The Principal "YOU", The Surety Company, and the Obligee. The Principal is the business or individual applying for the MVD Surety Bond. The Obligee is the individual or entity requiring the Surety Bond and the Surety Company is the company who provides the Surety Bond coverage.
Try our 100% Secure MVD Bond Online Application to get the Lowest Lost title bond rates in all 50 States.
You can buy your New Hampshire Car Dealer bond (Apply) online immediately
New Hampshire MVD Bond Requirements and Information:
Dealer License is for any person engaged in the motor vehicle business who
sells five (5) or more motor vehicles at retail to the general public in a 12
month period, with an established place of business within this state.
Vehicle License is $125 due at the time of Application for Retail Dealer License and Registration (additional
fees will be assessed upon approval).
Bond of $25,000 in the business name and business legal address.
from local & state authorities.
place of business.
business hours 37½ hours per week.
- Original service agreement with an approved New
Hampshire Inspection Station, if you do not have your own.
- Original Criminal Background check from New
Hampshire (out-of-state residents must provide a Criminal background check
from their home state, as well as from New Hampshire).
physical structure that has at least 750 square feet or is primarily
dedicated to the business of selling.
must be visible from a public way with 10 inch letters.
business location - requiring Registration Certificate.
dirt floors are acceptable for heavy equipment and farm equipment.
outlets as stated in state code.
may be displayed on the rear of a vehicle which is owned by the dealership
and for sale or a consignment vehicle as long as there is a notarized
consignment agreement on the premises.
vehicles are not exempt from inspection unless they have a certificate of
demonstration – there shall be no obstruction in the windshield due to
advertising etc. while the vehicle is being demonstrated.
use is permitted by the dealer owner and family domiciled at the owner's
employees (employed at 37½ hours a week), at the discretion of the owner,
may have personal use of a vehicle with a dealer plate. Employee's family
members do not have use of the vehicle. Contract employees are not
considered full-time employees. Vehicles must display all legally required
plates may be used on wreckers, ramp trucks and service trucks if they are
clearly marked, in 3 inch letters, Not For Hire (parts trucks are not permitted).
vehicles owned by the dealership and have a valid NH inspection sticker
may have the dealer plate attached.
of plates is prohibited.