What is an Indiana Car Dealer Bond?
Indiana Car Dealer Bonds are required by Indiana's BMV to obtain your Dealer license. The MVD Bond amount for the sale of New and used vehicles is set at $25,000. The Auto Dealer bond ensures that the principal shall comply with the conditions of any contract made by such licensee in connection with the sale or exchange of any motor vehicle and shall not violate any of the provisions of law relating to the conduct of the business for which it is licensed.
The State requires a Car Dealer bond for each license you hold:
- $25,000 New and Used Vehicle Dealer Bond https://www.wwisinc.com/bond-types/apply/indiana-mvd-bond
Different parts of a bond:
There are 3 parts to a MVD surety bond. The Principal "YOU", The Surety Company, and the Obligee. The Principal is the business or individual applying for the MVD Surety Bond. The Obligee is the individual or entity requiring the Surety Bond and the Surety Company is the company who provides the Surety Bond coverage.
Try our 100% Secure MVD Bond Online Application to get the Lowest MVD bond rates in all 50 States.
You can buy your Indiana Car Dealer bond (Apply) online immediately
Indiana MVD Bond Requirements and Information:
Applying for an IN Dealer License
As part of the application process, you’ll need to turn in the following items:
· A completed:
o Application for Vehicle or Watercraft Dealer Business License online.
o Indiana Vehicle Merchandising Certificate/Bond (Form 53966), good for a $25,000 surety bond.
o Zoning Affidavit (Form 55936).
· A copy of valid government-issued photo identification.
· The national criminal background check(s) for all corporate officers, partners, and owners of the business.
o These will need to be done within 60 days prior to submitting your IN dealer application.
· Your federal identification number issued by the IRS.
· Proof that you purchased the following amounts of liability insurance:
o $100,000 for bodily injury to 1 person.
o $300,000 for bodily injury per accident.
o $50,000 for property damage.
· A Certificate of Existence AND/OR Certificate of Assumed Name, if you’ll operate as any of the following:
o Limited liability Company.
o Limited partnership.
o Limited liability partnership.
· Your Retail Merchant Certificate.
· Photos of your dealership’s:
o Business office.
o Display areas/buildings (interior and exterior).
o Sales/display lots.
o Permanent sign, which should identify your dealership.
o Hours of operation.
· If you’re applying to be a new vehicle dealer, your franchise agreement with the car manufacturer(s) supplying your business.
· Payment for the $30 application fee, plus all other applicable dealer fees.
Once you’ve double checked that you have all the required items above, send your completed application to:
Office of the Indiana Secretary of State
Auto Dealer Services Division
302 W. Washington St.
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Keep in mind, the dealership itself also needs to meet requirements set out by the state.
If you have difficulties or questions while putting together your Indiana dealer license application, don’t hesitate to call the Auto Dealer Services Division at (317) 234-7190 for help.
NOTE: The business name and address listed on all required documents MUST MATCH the business name and address you list on your car dealer application.
Once you know and have all the requirements YOU need to become a car dealer in Indiana, it’s time to make sure your DEALERSHIP meets all the state’s requirements too.
Whether you’re a new or used dealer, your place of business must:
· Be at least 1,300 square feet.
· Be able to display at least 10 vehicles.
· Provide ample lighting during operational hours.
· Provide customers with parking areas with asphalt, concrete, rock, or another surface that won’t change with weather conditions.
· Have an office that is:
o Located at your place of business.
o A minimum of 100 square feet.
o Furnished with basic office furniture (a desk, chairs, filing cabinets, etc.)
o Equipped with utilities including electricity, heat, light, plumbing, and a business phone.
· Have a permanent, easily seen sign that states the dealer’s name and hours of operation.
· BE EITHER:
o Staffed and open for at least 30 hours per week.
o Staffed and open for at least 20 hours per week with the remaining 10 hours serviced by a mobile, pager, or telephone answering service.