What is an Georgia Lost Title Bond?
Georgia Lost Title Bonds are required by the state of Georgia's DMV to obtain your title and register your vehicle, boat, RV, mobile home or trailer. The bond ensures that you are the rightful owner of the vehicle, Mobile home, trailer etc. The Georgia Lost Title Bond guarantees damages up to the bond limit for a legitimate title holder that may surface in the future with a valid claim to the vehicle, Mobile home, boat or trailer.
Different parts of a bond:
The bond is required when The Obligee (obligator) is the entity requiring you to get the bond. There are 3 parts to a surety bond. The Principal, The Surety Company, and the Obligee. The Principal is the business or individual applying for the Surety Bond. The Obligee is the individual or entity requiring the Surety Bond and the Surety Company is the company who provides the Surety Bond coverage.
Try our 100% Secure Lost Title Bond Online Application to get the Lowest Lost title bond rates in all 50 States.
You can buy your Georgia Lost Title Bonds (Apply) online immediately, with no credit check for most Lost Title Bonds.
How much does a Georgia Lost Title Bond cost?
For Georgia Lost Title Bonds under $5,000 the cost of the bond is $100. For bonds over $5,000 the rate is 1.5%
Georgia Lost Title Bond Information and Requirements
If you do not have the required proof of ownership documents to obtain a Georgia title in your name, you may apply for a Georgia title on the basis of a surety bond.
The following information is required:
o Backed by an insurance company licensed to issue surety insurance in Georgia designating the vehicle owner’s legal name as the principal.
o Regardless of condition, the bond must be written in an amount equal to two times the average retail value of the vehicle (according to values established by the Georgia Department of Revenue), but not less than $5,000.
o The vehicle owner and the Insurance Company agent must sign the form in the designated spaces. If jointly owned, each owner must sign.
o All signatures on the bond must be witnessed.
o A power of attorney authorizing the agent to write the bond on behalf of the insurance company must be attached to the bond.
o Must be completed in the same name as the name shown on Form MV-46 Certificate of Title Bond.
o The signature on this form must be notarized.
o If the Form T-22B Certificate of Inspection indicates that the serial plate is missing, a is required.
o If the report indicates the title of record is from a jurisdiction other than Georgia, the application for a Georgia Certificate of Title must be accompanied by a certified title history from the state of issuance.
o If the Georgia or other state certified title history indicates a security interest or lien, a notice of release of a security interest or lien ( ) must be included.
Note: The title must be applied for within six months of the bond’s issue date. The minimum acceptable bond amount is $5,000. For verification of the bond amount, your insurance company may call the Motor Vehicle Division at. Certain bond amounts may be obtained from your .