Connecticut Lost Title Bond

Connecticut Lost Title Bond



Connecticut Lost Title Bond


Apply »


What is an Connecticut Lost Title Bond? 

Connecticut Lost Title Bonds are required by the state of Connecticut's DMV to obtain your title and register your vehicle, boat, RV, mobile home or trailer.  The bond ensures that you are the rightful owner of the vehicle, Mobile home, trailer etc. The Connecticut Lost Title Bond guarantees damages up to the bond limit for a legitimate title holder that may surface in the future with a valid claim to the vehicle, Mobile home, boat or trailer.


Different parts of a bond:

 The bond is required when The Obligee (obligator) is the entity requiring you to get the bond.  There are 3 parts to a surety bond. The Principal, The Surety Company, and the Obligee. The Principal is the business or individual applying for the Surety Bond. The Obligee is the individual or entity requiring the Surety Bond and the Surety Company is the company who provides the Surety Bond coverage.

 

Try our 100%  Secure Lost Title Bond Online Application to get the Lowest Lost title bond rates in all 50 States.


Program:

You can buy your Connecticut Lost Title Bonds (Apply) online immediately, with no credit check for most Lost Title Bonds.


How much does a Connecticut Lost Title Bond cost?

For Connecticut Lost Title Bonds under $5,000 the cost of the bond is $100. For bonds over $5,000 the rate is 1.5%


Connecticut Lost Title Bonds Information and Requirements:

Connecticut Titled

If vehicle was purchased in CT and it is newer than 20 years old, you will need a title. Vehicles with a model year over 20 years prior to the current year are non-titled and not required. For registration of a non-titled vehicle, the registration from the last owner and a Supplemental Assignment of Ownership (form Q-1) and/or Bill of Sale (form H-31) is needed. See more information when a title is not needed.

Connecticut does not participate in any electronic title or electronic lien holder program and at this time is not able to receive an electronic title or lien holder record.


Connecticut Dealership

Dealerships may register the vehicle for you. If the vehicle was purchased from a licensed dealer, the 6.35% (or 7.75% for vehicles over $50,000) sales and use tax is based on the purchase price. Full trade-in credit is allowed when computing the Connecticut Sales and Use tax.  If the trailer was purchased from a retail store, a registered receipt will be required or credit card receipt showing purchase.


Bill of Sale

A Bill of Sale is always required along with proof of ownership document for vehicle to process a new registration in CT which can be our Bill of Sale (form H-31) form H-31 or Supplemental Assignment of Ownership (form Q-1). It can also be a handwritten bill of sale that provides vehicle, seller and buyers' information, and also selling price with date sold.


Homemade

No title needed. H-115 Form - Motor Vehicle Ownership Affidavit


Purchased Out of State Titled Vehicle

Please see Title Information by State to know if title is needed. If vehicle is not title in that state, valid registration from previous owner is needed. If registration is expired, they will need to obtain a letter of registration verification from their previous state DMV.



Transferring Current Vehicle from Out of State

·         Emissions Test or VIN Check Needed:  If vehicle is model year 2017 and older then vehicle needs to have an emissions test done. Vehicles that are exempt from emissions testing will require a VIN verification.

·         Vehicle Title Needed: Once you've established residency in Connecticut, you have 60 days to transfer your vehicle registration to this state. An out-of-state title needs to be provided when applicable (refer to Title Information by State).

If your title is being held by a lien holder, you may have your out of state title mailed to:

State of Connecticut

Department of Motor Vehicles

ATTENTION: TITLE UNIT OUT OF STATE TITLE

60 State Street

Wethersfield, CT 06161

Letter of Request for Out of State Title

Your title will be placed on file for use at any CT DMV location you visit.

In absence of the original title - (Courtesy Registration Exemption



Transferring Leased Vehicle from Out of State

·         Emissions Test or VIN Check Needed:  If vehicle is model year 2017 and older then vehicle needs to have an emissions test done. Vehicles that are exempt from emissions testing will require a VIN verification.

·         Vehicle Title Needed: Once you've established residency in Connecticut, you have 60 days to transfer your vehicle registration to this state. A lease vehicle registration requires an original power of attorney from the leasing company and the original certificate of title. 

If your title is being held by a leasing company, you may have your out of state title mailed to:

State of Connecticut

Department of Motor Vehicles

ATTENTION: TITLE UNIT OUT OF STATE TITLE

60 State Street

Wethersfield, CT 06161

Letter of Request for Out of State Title

Your title will be placed on file for use at any CT DMV location you visit.

In absence of the original title if being held by a lienholder - (Courtesy Registration Exemption)


Out of State Dealership

·         Emissions Test or VIN Check Needed:  If vehicle is model year 2017 and older then vehicle needs to have an emissions test done. Vehicles that are exempt from emissions testing will require a VIN verification.

·         Vehicle Title Needed: Once you've established residency in Connecticut, you have 60 days to transfer your vehicle registration to this state. A lease vehicle registration requires an original power of attorney from the leasing company and the original certificate of title. 

Out of state title or Certificate of Origin is needed when registering the vehicle. Dealership will also need to provide you with a federal odometer statement and a bill of sale/invoice showing sales tax amount paid if an


How to Sell a Vehicle when Title is missing

If you have lost your original Connecticut Certificate of Title and are selling the vehicle to someone who will be registering it in Connecticut, you can follow the procedures listed below to sell the vehicle without requesting a replacement title.

·         Complete the Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (form H-6B).   

·         Must also include an Original Connecticut DMV Supplemental Assignment of Ownership Form (form Q1). This form is also available at your local DMV office. 

·         Transfer of ownership will not be valid unless form Q1 Supplemental Assignment of Ownership is included.

·         If a lien was listed on the original Connecticut Certificate of Title, a lien release must be provided to the purchaser and must accompany the Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (form H-6B). The transaction will not be processed if a lien release is not submitted. The lien release must be on letterhead paper from the lien holder.  If the date of the lien is more than ten years and you are having difficulty obtaining a lien release from lender (out of business, changed name, etc.) you must provide a completed Motor Vehicle Ownership Affidavit (form H-115) in lieu of the lien release.

·         If a vehicle is over 20 model years old, a Connecticut title will not be required to sell a vehicle.  If title is not available, a Supplemental Assignment of Ownership form (Form Q-1) can be completed in full to indicate the buyer and the seller.

·         Note: If the vehicle is being sold to someone in another state, you must request a replacement title. Once you have received the duplicate title, complete the transfer section on the reverse side of the title and provide to the buyer of the vehicle.


Apply »